About Me

‘I can’t believe,’ my friend Morgan said the other day, ‘how many translators there are out there who don’t have any kind of web presence.’

‘I…used to tweet,’ I said. ‘And I’ve been meaning to start a blog for a while…’

So here we are. I’m Lydia. I studied Japanese at university, then spent a few years working in the UK publishing industry, selling translation rights to Asia and the Middle East. Somewhere along the way, I realised that while increasing the number of books in the world that are translated from English was great fun and offered lots of exciting opportunities for travel, what I really wanted to do was help increase the number of books translated into English from foreign languages.

So now I’m working towards an MA in Theory and Practice of Translation at SOAS, and in my spare time I’m a translator, proofreader, copyeditor and occasionally publishing consultant. I was a bookseller too once, and I’d love to do that again as well.

I like: books (SFF and children’s books are my particular passions), publishing geekery, learning Japanese, learning Korean, doing Progressive Judaism, travelling to exciting places, and drinking interesting teas. In any combination, and not in that order.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to About Me

  1. Morgan says:

    Hooray! It’s like the Ring – you’ve got to make another translator create a website to pass the curse on now.

Leave a Reply

