Agenting life

I can’t tell you how much I’ve missed being in publishing. I’m glad I took some time out to do my translation MA – I’m fascinated by translation in an academic sense (if I ever did any further study I’d want it to be in the field of Translation Studies), I love translating and think that promoting translated literature is a hugely important thing to be doing, and I’m glad to have made some connections on that side of the publishing industry, but…oh book fairs. Oh industry contacts. Oh reading books before they’re published, and matching them to publishers you know and seeing somebody’s eyes light up when you pitch a new book to them. I’ve just missed it all so much.

I had a great BEA. I had a brief worry before my first meeting that maybe I’d forgotten how to pitch books during my year away, but of course it all came back to me pretty quickly. I don’t have many clients of my own yet, so this time around I was concentrating on selling foreign rights, pitching the agency’s titles to scouts and foreign sub-agents. I also picked up masses of free books, which is a thing that happens at BEA which does not happen at the book fairs I normally go to (Frankfurt, Bologna, London). And since then, I’ve been following up on my meetings, sending out submissions, and trying to snag some more clients for my list.

As I said in my last entry, I’m looking mostly for science fiction and fantasy titles, because that’s where my heart is, so I was pretty excited to stumble across a wonderful SFF pitchfest on Twitter the other day, organised by Dan Koboldt. I spent quite a while just scrolling through the #SFFpit archives, picking out delicious 140-character queries for request, and now I’m steadily working through the lovely selection of manuscripts that have arrived in my inbox.

Incidentally, if you arrived at this website via #SFFpit or are otherwise interested in me in an agenty way, then hi! I’m a new literary agent based in Toronto. The reason my bio isn’t up on The Rights Factory website yet is because we’re in the middle of having the whole thing redesigned – it should show up there in a couple of weeks. In the meantime, you can read more about me on this blog – you’ll probably want to start here.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Agenting life

  1. Giora says:

    Can you elaborate about the Bechdel test? My Ya fiction presents a Feminist heroine who is in love triangle with a boy and a girl. While they two girls speak about the boy, they also speak only about their relationship. Best wishes from your City.

    • Lydia says:

      Sure! A book (or film, or other media-type thing) passes the Bechdel test if:

      1. It has at least two women in it,
      2. who talk to each other,
      3. about something besides a man.

Leave a Reply

