Deal announcement: HOLLY FARB AND THE PRINCESS OF THE GALAXY, by Gareth Wronski

Exciting announcement! North American rights to Gareth Wronski’s brilliant middle-grade science fiction novel, HOLLY FARB AND THE PRINCESS OF THE GALAXY, have been sold to Amy Cloud of Aladdin (Simon & Schuster). Publication is scheduled for Summer 2017.

HOLLY FARB is a hilarious, Douglas-Adams-esque work about a schoolgirl who gets kidnapped by alien space pirates when they mistake her for the missing princess of a far-away galaxy. Lost in space, she must band together with her eccentric science teacher and a mysterious new student to find her way back to Earth. It contains space cruise liners, bounty hunters, giant worms, terrifying blobs, perky holograms, cosmic board games, sinister insectoid librarians, government clones, vacuum cleaners, the President of the Universe and a robot who is learning how to lie. It’s about bravery, friendship, and finding out that your world can be bigger than you ever imagined. It’s about a nerdy, lonely girl finding her place in the universe. It’s funny and wonderful and I adore it.

To understand quite how excited I am about this deal, you need to know a little bit about Gareth and me. Gareth was one of my first few clients, and the very first one I ever found in my slush pile (as opposed to through a Twitter contest, or passed on to me by another agent). I was in love with his first manuscript (which is something like a middle-grade Retribution Falls) from the very first page. We did a couple of rounds of edits and sent it out into the world, where it received a large number of highly complimentary passes from editors, went to a few different acquisitions boards, and…got no offers of publication. It was hard and sad and there was a lot of waiting involved, and Gareth coped with it in the best possible way: by writing a completely different, equally brilliant second manuscript. We worked on that one a bit, I sent it out on submission, and this time we received an offer of publication about a month later. After all the ‘ooh, not quite but almost’ and ‘this editor said she really loved it but…’ we’d been through the first time, making that phone call was one of the best moments I’ve had as an agent.

I know that Gareth was born to be a writer. For the past sixteen months I’ve been his agent, his first reader and his biggest fan, and I’m so glad that, in Amy Cloud, I’ve found an editor who loves his writing as much as I do. I have absolutely no doubt that I will sell that first manuscript, when the time is right. And I can’t wait to see what he comes up with next.

This entry was posted in Agenting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

