Here’s what’s happening this summer

Okay, here we go! I am now officially closed to queries for the summer, to give me more time to focus on reaching out to marginalised authors. Queries sent to me between now and September 1st will be deleted, with one exception: if you count yourself as a member of a marginalised group and write the kind of thing I tend to represent, please feel free to query me through the query form on my blog (not through the Rights Factory website), and mention this blog post in your query.

The definition of ‘marginalised group’ I will be using is the same as Beth Phelan’s from #DVpit: including but not limited to ‘Native peoples and people of color; people living and/or born/raised in underrepresented cultures and countries; disabled persons; people with illness; people on marginalised ends of the socioeconomic, cultural and/or religious spectrum; people identifying as LGBTQIA+; and more.’ I am particularly interested in hearing from indigenous people and people of colour (who may or may not also fall into any of the other categories), because until now the vast majority of submissions I’ve received have been from white people and I would like that to change.

I am taking recommendations from everybody, so if you know somebody who fits these criteria and is looking for an agent please let them know about me, or let me know about them.

I am 100% sure that I am also going to get a whole bunch of queries from authors belonging to dominant social groups writing about marginalised characters, because that’s how people belonging to dominant social groups tend to roll. Just to make it clear, when I say I am looking for ‘marginalised voices’, this refers to the identity of the authors, not to the identity of the characters they write.

This doesn’t mean I’m only looking for #ownvoices manuscripts – if you’re a member of a marginalised group but your characters are not, that’s fine by me. I am looking to support authors to create whichever kind of characters they feel like creating.

Closing to new queries does not mean that I’ll be deleting all the queries I already have. If you do not fit the criteria above, but your query or partial manuscript is in my inbox right now, I promise I will respond to it.

Okay, let’s do this thing.

This entry was posted in Agenting, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Here’s what’s happening this summer

  1. I think this is a great! I hope it yields some great new talent! 🙂

Leave a Reply

