Foreign rights deals roundup

I recently realised that foreign rights don’t get a lot of love on this blog, except at book fair time, which is a shame. After all, foreign rights are half of my job, and also the bit of my job that I’ve been doing the longest – I’ve been an agent since 2014, but I’ve been selling foreign rights in various capacities since 2008. I love spending time with foreign publishers, love selling books in translation, love seeing them come back to me transformed, with new titles and new covers to fit their new markets. So I just thought I’d do a quick round-up post of the foreign rights deals I’ve done since Bologna in April.

– Turkish rights to Laura Nowlin’s If He Had Been With Me, to Aspendos Yayinevi. Laura’s debut came out back in 2013 and is still going strong in English – a few months ago it became a NYT ebook bestseller. So far Brazilian and Turkish rights have been sold, and I’m hoping for more sales in future, both of this and of her second book, This Song is (Not) For You.

– French rights to Kate Blair’s Transferral, to Editions Michel Lafon, as described on Kate’s blog. My wonderful French co-agent, Lora Fountain, really got behind this one, and we secured a deal within just a few weeks. And now the TV option has been sold, so that will give me something fun to talk about at Frankfurt!

– German rights to Beck Nicholas’s Last Days of Summer, to cbt at Random House Germany. This is Beck’s fifth book since she first signed with us a few years ago, and her writing just goes from strength to strength. I see a few editors at each book fair whose first question is always ‘what’s Beck Nicholas working on next?’, and I’m always so excited to tell them – so I was delighted to finally secure a German home for her writing.

Congratulations to Laura, Kate and Beck! I can’t wait to see your first foreign editions.

In some ways I feel like I’m still in post-Bologna mode, but preparations for Frankfurt are already underway – my diary is filling up with appointments and I really ought to start thinking about the catalogue. Post-Bologna just means pre-Frankfurt, after all. I wouldn’t have it any other way.

This entry was posted in Agenting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

